Review: The Mistress

I never did expect that this movie will end that way. It made me cry and laugh, but in the end, it offered a great lesson to everyone – You can judge others just how they stand on the society.

The Mistress has blown me away. It gave me jumbled emotions of sorrow and hilarity. Bea Alonzo and John Lloyd Cruz tandem never fails to shower surprises. Their tandem has enough charisma that even after ten years, they still managed to touch the emotions of the mass.

I like how the movie balanced the tension, romance and humour. It is not just a plain love story, but a love story that can certainly blow you away.

The movie is really far away from the stereotype that is being shown on the mainstreams. (I can’t explain why, because it will end up spoiling you. Just watch the movie) the movie has proven that there’s always a reason behind every deed. In our society, mistress is defined as bad, gold digger, and selfish woman. But in the movie, it showed the other part of the mistress.

The movie will not be as good as how it turned out without the good actors and actresses ahead. Aside from Bea Alonzo and John Lloyd Cruz, Hilda Koronel, and Ronaldo Valdez gave justice to what they portrayed. Hilda Koronel added spice on the intensity of the movie especially when she confronted Bea Alonzo at the tailoring shop.

Of course, let’s not forget to give credit with K Brosas and Clarence Delgado who made every viewer laughs with their characters. It balanced the intensity of the movie. I remember when they’re throwing their lines, the crowd on the movie theatre never stopped on laughing.

There’s really the unexplainable sparkle between Bea and John Lloyd that kept on striking the mass. Bea is Bea and so is John Lloyd.

I didn’t even expect that I would cry with this movie. But when I rolled my eyes on the entire movie theater, I saw some of the people cried too. It’s just definitely an attestation that The Mistress will just give you an intense tug from your heart.

Perhaps there are just some of the scenes that at least should have carried out better. Like with the transitions of scenes on the first part of the movie. I think the transitions are quite fast that it could make you feel dizzy. And the movie was like created in a hastily way. The finishing and polishing was a not so good. I think the management should give the credit to the actors and actresses who really saved the movie.

I guess without the magical power of Bea and John Lloyd tandem, the movie wouldn’t turn out so good.

On the other hand, I like how the Chasing Car of Snow Patrol captured the scenes. It added a little spice on the intense scenes. I also would like to congratulate Bea Alonzo for accepting this kind of project. Her character is really challenging, yet she gave justice on it.

The mistress is definitely a must-watch movie. I think it will hit the taste of every Filipino. The time when my mom and I watched the movie, the movie theatre was so jam-packed. So I feel that this movie will surely be one of the blockbuster movies of the year.

Rating: 4/5

10 thoughts on “Review: The Mistress

Leave a Reply

