What’s your hobby?

       “Dying? Not the end of everything. We think it is. But what happens on earth is only the beginning.” “Knowing there’s one thing I still haven’t told you: I now believe, by the way, that miracles can happen.” “Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone.”

        Perhaps you have encountered these heart-inspiring lines. Some might post it in their scrapbook or some might post it as status in their facebook or twitter account. Back then, I find reading novels as squander of time. Why would you waste your entire time just reading a book? Why would you finish reading a book in just a single day and forget the other task you need to finish? These are the questions pondering on my head. Questions I didn’t understand before, until I was hooked up with A Walk to Remember of Nicholas Sparks. It’s a fulfillment to finish a novel which consists of 300 plus pages. It’s a self-entitlement to own a book. And most especially, appreciating and understanding the lesson of the book you have read is beyond words.

        

           After I finished reading A Walk to Remember of Nicholas Sparks, I have continued reading novels. I have appreciated the essence of it. It’s not just merely a stress reliever hobby, but also a tool of honing up your imagination and intensifying your vocabulary words. Reading has helped me become a better writer that it pushed me to create appealing and unique plot where I can show my individuality. Reading has also helped me become less of a loud talker. I remember how my classmates during my last year in High School, found my quietness so bizarre. I wasn’t a silent type student before, but when I found reading as interesting as it is, I made my vacant time as my reading time. Sometimes to the extent, I read my novel during my banal teacher is discussing his/her lecture. So right now, I always received a book present from my friends. It made me blissful of course; especially I’m a “budget reader” meaning I used to buy novels from book sale. My parents don’t support my hobby, but I don’t hold grudge about that. Of course, buying a single book worth 300php plus is something unpractical for them. Nevertheless, I’m still thankful for them, because I managed to save quite a bit from my allowance coming from them. I wouldn’t save much money which can buy a brand new book if my allowance wasn’t so enough for my daily routine in school.


        Reading novels added sweet spice on my every day life. Without it, my entire system would be incomplete like a vehicle without an engine, a cellular phone without load and a bicycle without a wheel. Hence, my life without my hobby would have a very serious malfunction.

Leave a Reply

